Pain of Salvation – The Perfect Element 1

Coverart

While I was in the last year of my equivalent of A-levels my life consisted nearly exclusively of going to school, studying, gaming and the occassional evening with friends. One particular of these evenings I was at a festival during which my friend Nugge’s band was going to play. Since their gig was one of many I took the time to scout out the other bands. Watching the shows one band stood out, namely this review’s focus – Pain of Salvation. I had heard them once before back in the eighth grade, but was then far too juvenile to comprehend it. Luckily this concert sparked my interest in them and lead me to discover the album I will be introducing you to today.

Pain of Salvation (PoS) today places itself in the progressive metal venue and constitutes four members of which the only one remaining from the original line-up is Daniel Gildenlöw. Although it can be said that all members of the band contribute to the delicious end result there is no doubt that Daniel is the main source of fascination. Having started what would become PoS at age eleven Daniel was by definition a musical prodigy. In 1987 at the age of 14 Daniel and his band participated in the annual swedish music contest Rock SM and Daniel walked away with prize for ‘best vocalist’.

When The Perfect Element 1 is released in 2000, we are faced with not only a brilliant singer, but an artist who’s had more than a decade to refine his technique – and it shows. A lot. To give you a taste of Daniel’s provess I’m including a link to a compilation of ‘moments’  which include clips from this album among others. Personally I am not schooled enough in music to distinguish such things but concensus seems to be that Daniel ranges three and a half octave, which if nothing else sounds mighty impressive.

The Perfect Element features 12 tracks which are all part of a concept. The music is character-driven and as the characters develop throughout the album the tone of the music gradually changes. Thematically we are introduced to a less than ideal family where the daughter suffers abuse by her father’s hand. We deal with their hardships through the perspectives of both of them which adds a diverse tone to the story. Ranging from the actual abuse and her pain to the years of dealing with the guilt and other issues that follow it.

There is a predominant image that follows us throughout the album, that of ashes. In the song Idioglossia the girl’s dwelling on the past is described in the following way: “As I search through the ashes for someone to blame, I’m afraid to see my face”. I’d like to linger a moment at this in my eyes rich symbolic passage. As ashes are what remains after something has been burnt I feel it is a very powerful way to convey her dealing with the abuse she was subject to. The life she could’ve had, her childhood, her dreams and aspiration – I wager – is what has been burnt and she’s searching through the remnants of the hideous events fearing she’ll come to the same conclusion she has on other occassions, that it is all her fault. My knowledge on the subject is limited, but that is the impression I’ve gotten, that people who have really bad things happen to them often wonder if it’s their own fault.

In a sense the album is a classic tale of a child’s coming to terms with adulthood, albeit twisted, and functions as a lament of lost innocence. It was originally meant to be the first of a two-part double album, but the second part has not and most likely will not be published. When I first heard of this I was sorry to hear there would be no proper closure given to what has become an important part of my musical experience, but as I grew to love the album and kept being fascinated by its many layers I have come to change my attitude towards it. It complements the theme of the album very well to have no ending in the standard sense as with life (particularly for the girl in the story) things tend to end whether we feel it is appropriate or not. Maybe the second part would have offered a lighter twist towards the better, maybe it would’ve pinned down the dark edginess of the first part. But by not being published it has provided us with both (or neither) – an open ending.

The Perfect Element 1 remains close to my heart for many reasons. The music is well performed (nearly a given considering I speak well of it, but worth mentioning) and playful. It twists and turns in an exciting way that keeps me coming back for more. Daniel and his vocals add a unique touch to the music which already comes off as heartfelt and sincere. Most of all though I think it is the way the Perfect Element deals with a heavy-handed topic such as child abuse by confronting it and putting it on display without trivialising it or feeling cheap. All around a great album and band that warrant a lot more international attention than it appears to have received.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • "Whoever fights monsters should see to it that in the process he does not become a monster.
    And when you look long into the abyss, the abyss also looks into you."

    - Frederick Wilhelm Nietzche